The Industrial Electronics Society through its members encompasses a diverse range of technical activities devoted to the application of electronics and electrical sciences for the enhancement of industrial and manufacturing processes. These technical activities address the latest developments in intelligent and computer control systems, robotics, factory communications, and automation, flexible manufacturing, data acquisition and signal processing, vision systems, and power electronics. The Society continually updates its program of technical activities to meet the needs of modern industry.

Field of Interest

IES Constitution, Article I, Section 4. The Field of Interest of the IES shall be confined to the theory and applications of electronics, controls, communications, instrumentation, and computational intelligence to industrial and manufacturing systems and processes.
IES Constitution, Article I, Section 5. The Field of Interest of the IES may be enlarged, reduced, or shifted moderately as the need of the occasion indicate with the provision that such revisions shall be processed as an amendment to this Constitution and shall be following the procedures defined in the TAB Operations Manual.

The Society is soliciting nominations for the following 2022 awards

 The Industrial Electronics Society is soliciting nominations for the following 2022 awards:

  • Dr.-Ing. Eugene Mittelmann Achievement Award
  • Anthony J. Hornfeck Service Award
  • IEEE J. David Irwin Early Career Award
  • IEEE Bimal Bose Award for Industrial Electronics Applications in Energy Systems
  • IEEE Rudolf Chope Research & Development Award

The deadline for the submission is April 1, 2022. For more details, please visit http://www.ieee-ies.org/about/awards. Please send a complete application to h.haneda@ieee.org, with a copy to awards@ieee-ies.org.

Message from Chair of the 2021 IES Nominations and Appointments Committee, Prof. Xinghuo Yu

Dear IES Members,

It gives me great pleasure to announce the 2021 election results for IES Administrative Committee (AdCom) vacancies:



President-Elect: Milos Manic (2022-2023)

Vice-President Technical Activities: Valeriy Vyatkin (2022-2023)

Vice-President Conference Activities: Yang Shi (2022-2023)

Vice-President Planning and Development: Stoyan Nihtianov (2022-2023)

Secretary: Lucia Lo Bello (2022-2023)



Emil Levi (2022-2024) (by election)

Mihoko Niitsuma (2022-2024) (by election)

Peter Palensky (2022-2024) (by election)

Yajun Pan (2022-2024) (by election)

Makoto Iwasaki (2022-2024) (by appointment)

Hadi Kanaan (2022-2024) (by appointment)

Jinhua She (2022-2024) (by appointment)

Carmen Aracil (2022-2023) (by appointment)

Yasutaka Fujimoto (2022) (by appointment)


Technical Committee Cluster Delegates

Cluster 1 (Energy): Sertac Bayhan (2022-2023)

Cluster 2 (Sensors and Control): Michael Ruderman (2022-2023)

Cluster 3 (Info and Comm Tech): Wenbin Dai (2022-2023)

Cluster 4 (Cross-disciplinary): Larisa Dunai (2022-2023)


Technical Committee (TC) Chairs (non-voting AdCom members)

TC 1 - Building Automation, Control, and Management: Kim Tsang (2022-2023)

TC 3 - Control, Robotics & Mechatronics: Gabor Sziebig (2022-2023)

TC 5 - Education in Engineering & Industrial Technologies: Kazuhiro Umetani (2022-2023)

TC 7 - Electronic Systems on Chip: Alin Tisan (2022-2023)

TC 8 - Energy Storage: Bharat Balagopal (2022-2023)

TC 9 - Factory Automation: Moris Behnam (2022-2023)

TC 10 - Human Factors: Daisuke Chugo (2022-2023)

TC 11 - Industrial Agents: Paulo Leitao (2022-2023)

TC 13 - Industrial Informatics: Wenbin Dai (2022-2023)

TC 15 - Motion Control: Kenta Seki (2022-2023)

TC 16 - Network-based Control Systems and Applications: Lei Ding (2022-2023)

TC 19 - Resilience and Security for Industrial Applications: Chengbin Ma (2022-2023)

TC 20 – Sensors and Actuators: Emre Sariyildiz (2022-2023)

TC 22 – Standards: Allen Chen (2022-2023)

TC 23 - Transportation Electrification: Yigeng Huangfu (2022-2023)


On behalf of IES, I would like to congratulate the above appointees on their successes. We look forward to their contributions to IES.


Best regards,



Professor Xinghuo Yu

Chair, 2021 IES Nominations and Appointments Committee

Junior Past President, IEEE Industrial Electronics Society 


Call for projects to enhance IES operations

During the second administrative meeting, October 22, 2021, IES AdCom approved the allocation of $200k for projects that would enhance IES activities through 2022.  This is a call for proposals to AdCom members from the Finance Committee, with a deadline for EOI to the Finance Committee of March 1, 2022.

The Expressions of Interest template can be downloaded here (pdf or word). Please use the subject line "2022 EoI to enhance IES" when submitting EoI to Treasurer Prof. Milos Manic at  treasurer@ieee-ies.org, by March 1, 2022. Early submissions are welcomed!