IEEE Bimal Bose Award for Industrial Electronics Applications in Energy Systems

Established: in 2013
To recognize a young researcher who has made significant contributions to the advancement of energy systems through industrial electronics applications. 

Administration: Administered by the Industrial Electronics Society Awards and Honor Committee (IES A&H Committee). 
Eligibility: The candidate must be a member of IES who, on the date of nomination, is within his/her 25 years of professional experience from the date of his/her last academic degree. 
Prize: The award consists of an honorarium of US$3,000, an award certificate, and travel support to attend the award ceremony limited up to US$2,000.
Frequency: Annual.
Funding: Funded by the IEEE Foundation and the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society.
Basis for Judging: The award is given based on the technical importance of the contribution, originality, and future prospects with an emphasis on applications to power electronics and energy systems in the field of industrial electronics. The award is not necessarily given yearly: awarded only when suitable candidates can be identified.
Nominee Solicitation: A Call for Nomination is announced in the IEEE Industrial Electronics Magazine and the society’s Website. 
Presentation: The award will be presented at the Society’s annual conference, which is usually held in November each year.

To nominate someone, please use the following documents.

Award Recipients

  • 2014 - Dr. Marco Liserre
  • 2015 - Dr. Mariusz Malinowski
  • 2016 - Dr. Samir Kouro
  • 2017 - Dr. Jose Leon
  • 2018 - Josep Pou, Citation: For contributions to power electronics and renewable energy conversion
  • 2019 - Chandan Chakraborty, Citation: For pioneering contributions to applied industrial electronics and control in renewable energy systems
  • 2020 - Akshay Kumar Rathore, Citation: For innovative contributions to the advancement of power electronics for renewable energy and drive systems
  • 2021 - Josep M. Guerrero, Citation: Pioneering contributions to renewable energy-based microgrid
  • 2022 - Sheldon S. Williamson, Citation: For contributions to electric energy storage systems for transportation electrification
  • 2023 - Hadi Youssef Kanaan, Citation: For significant contribution to the modeling and the control of power electronics converters.