Technical Committees - 2023

See the year 2024 slots
See the year 2022 slots

Technical Committees and Clusters of the IES

Energy Cluster

Cluster delegates:
Sertac Bayhan* (2022-2023)
Antonio Cardoso* (2023-2024)

Sensors & Control Cluster

Cluster delegates:
Michael Ruderman* (2022-2023)
Emre Sariyildiz* (2023-2024)

Information and Communication Technologies Cluster

Cluster delegates:
Wenbin Dai* (2022-2023)
Kim Fung Tsang* (2023-2024)

Cross-disciplinary Cluster

Cluster delegates:
Larisa Dunai* (2022-2023)
Alin Tisan* (2023-2024)

 (scroll down for the list of TCs with contact persons)

Industrial Electronics Society (IES) of IEEE has always been interdisciplinary, focusing on technologies critical for industrial systems. IES is home for 24 Technical Committees (TCs) covering the full spectrum of industry-relevant Electrical, Electronic, and Information technologies. IES facilitates the integration and interplay of such technologies to the benefit of society.

A Technical Committee is a group of experts in a specific field (at least 15), coming either from academia or industry, led by a member-elected Chair and sharing common interests.The TC’sgoal is to promote activities in its field of interest and, at the same time, to contribute to the development of the IES by supporting conferences, journals, and events and even contributing to the development of new standards.

Joining a Technical Committee is a way to meet potential partners for research projects, and to discuss with recognized experts in specific areas, who can help in developing new ideas or concepts. With a Technical Committee, one becomes an active member of the IES, with involvement in conference organization, paper review, editorial activities, and the IES business at large.

Compared to other societies, we are proud to have a broad range of TCs which is a sign of our vitality. On the other hand, having so many groups require some coordination, so in 2011, we introduced the TC Clusters, each of them composed of TCs that are active in one of the following four broad categories: Energy, Sensors & Control, Information & Communication Technologies, and Cross-disciplinary. The clusters are intended to promote collaborative projects between TCs, as well as share the knowledge of the activities running in the various TCs, so a better synergy can be achieved.

Please browse the list of TCs below and, after visiting their websites, select one that fits your interests, contact its Chair and start your journey with us.

Be part of the IES Technical Activities!

List of Technical Committees and their Chairs ( For contact details please visit TC webpage):

1. Building Automation, Control, and Management
Kim Fung Tsang - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
2. Cloud and Wireless Systems for Industrial Applications 
Gerhard Hancke - Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
3. Control, Robotics, and Mechatronics
Gabor Sziebig - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
4. Data-Driven Control and Monitoring
Hao Luo - Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
5. Education in Engineering and Industrial Technologies
Kazuhiro Umetani - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
6. Electrical Machines
Jose Antonino-Daviu - Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
7. Electronic Systems on Chip
Alin Tisan - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
8. Energy Storage
Bharat Balagopal - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
9. Factory Automation
Moris Behnam - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
10. Human Factors
Daisuke Chugo - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
11. Industrial Agents
Paulo Leitao - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
12. Industrial Cyber-Physical Systems 
Huazhen Fang - Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
13. Industrial Informatics
Wenbin Dai - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
14. MEMS and Nanotechnologies
Yunjia Li - Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
15. Motion Control
Kenta Seki - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
16. Network-based Control Systems and Applications
Lei Ding - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
17. Power Electronics (PETC)
Antonio Cardoso  - Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
18. Renewable Energy Systems
Chandan Kumar - Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
19. Resilience and Security for Industrial Applications
Chengbin Ma – Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
20. Sensors and Actuators
Emre Sariyildiz- Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
21. Smart Grids
João Martins – Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:
22. Standards 
Allen Chen - Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
23. Transportation Electrification
Yigeng Huangfu – Chair (2022-2023)
Web page:
24. Technology Ethics and Society
Daswin de Silva – Chair (2023-2024)
Web page:

Technical Activities Committee

The Industrial Electronics Society Technical Activities Committee is chaired by the VP for Technical Activities and consists of Cluster Delegates, chairs of the technical committees listed above, and eight additional members.

"*" - with AdCom voting rights

Technical Committee Chairs have no voting rights unless earned in a different capacity.